Commercial Radio Australia Brian White Awards

2018 Winner - Kamin Gock

Charles Sturt University student, Kamin Gock was the winner of the 2018 Brian White Scholarship.

Kamin was one of eight student finalists who attended a news workshop at the SCA rooftop in Sydney and was judged across several areas including: a general knowledge questionnaire; recording a live cross to a breaking story; and selecting AM and FM appropriate news stories.

After being awarded the scholarship, Kamin embarked on an eight-week paid work attachment in Sydney, consisting of two weeks each at MML, SCA, ARN and Nova. There, he worked with leading radio and industry specialist transferring his knowledge to land a journalism position at Channel 9 Perth. Follow Kamin’s journey on Twitter @kamingock

Read Kamin's Q&A below, including hints and tips for future applicants!


Q. What did you study at university? 

A. I studied a Bachelor of Communication majoring in Journalism.

Q. How did the Brian White Scholarship give you an advantage while applying for positions after graduation?

A. Without a doubt, the scholarship helped leap frog my understanding of journalism and my career. The scholarship teaches you things you can't learn in a classroom and puts you in positions where you get practical experience and learn how a newsroom works. These are the kind of skills employers are looking for and the scholarship provides all that and more as you meet incredible people during the eight weeks as well.

Q. What are the top three skills that you learnt on your placement?

A. 1) How to handle high pressure situations with short deadlines

2) Voice work when reporting

3) How to gather news when you are the first one reporting.

Q. How has radio industry experience impacted your journalism? 

A. My experience in the radio industry has made me a better journalist, I'm incredibly grateful for the opportunities I have had. In radio journalism you learn how to translate complex information into accurate, short and sharp sentences. You have to do so in a very small amount of time so you quickly understand the time pressures that surround you as a journalist. Importantly, radio is all about the voice and you have to be able to convey a message sincerely through what you say and how you say it. My time in radio helped me develop a professional news reader's voice and also taught me how to convey a message to the target audience. At every station, there is a different target audience which means you have to share the news in a different way but without changing the meaning. All these skills are vital in the industry and transferable across all platforms.

Q. What advice/tips would you give to future applicants? 

A. When writing a news bulletin, before submitting, read it and try to simplify and shorten it. Radio news you have a short amount of time to get an important message across, make sure the most vital information is delivered first and make sure it is written in a way the target audience can understand it without actively listening - as many people when listening to the radio are in the car or multitasking. It's also very important to read a bulletin sincerely and not "overdo" the news reader voice, as it can sound tacky. The best way to develop your voice is through experience and learning from people in the industry. Most importantly if you're lucky enough to receive the scholarship have fun with it and always say yes to opportunities that come your way! You will meet some truly incredible and successful people during the eight weeks so relish the opportunity and make the most of it!



2018 FINALISTS: Kamin Gock – NSW   |   Grant Maling – NSW   |   Elfy Scott – NSW   |   Tom Livingstone – NSW   |   Madeline Palmer – WA   |   

Anna Hay – WA   |   Thomas Marlow – WA   |   Rashelle McHugh – VIC


2017 Winner - Rachel Storer


Rachel Storer was the winner of the inaugural Brian White Scholarship. Rachel studied at the University of Newcastle and was part of the student news team at the university radio station.

“The Brian White Scholarship provided me with incredible experience. It was hands on and I was learning from experienced journalists in both AM and FM newsrooms. I advise all final year or graduate communications students to apply for the scholarship.”

The eight finalists attended a news workshop at the Nova studios in Sydney with news directors Deborah Clay (ARN), Michelle Stephenson (Nova), Erin Maher (MML) and Natasha Jobson (SCA) putting the students through their paces with a series of radio newsroom-focused tasks. Students were judged across a number of areas including: a general knowledge questionnaire; recording a live cross to a breaking story; writing five radio news stories; and outlining how they would ensure accuracy of information if they were covering a natural disaster.

All the radio news directors were impressed by the enthusiasm and expertise of the finalists.    

SCA News Director, Natasha Jobson said: “If the finalists for the Brian White Scholarship are any example of the next generation of radio journos, we’re in great shape! Whilst all were impressive, Rachel shone with her ability to identify the nuances between AM and FM style news, and her understanding of the importance of news to both regional and metro audiences.”

After completing the eight-week paid scholarship work attachment in Sydney, consisting of two weeks each at MML, SCA, ARN and Nova, Rachel was offered a full time job with SCA at Hit 106.9 Newcastle. 

Follow Rachel’s journey on Twitter @_RachelStorer



2017 FINALISTS: Eleanor Harrison-Dengate – NSW   |   Rachel Storer – NSW   |   Tys Occhiuzzi – NSW   |   Sam Koslowski – NSW   |   

Kate Lambe – WA   |   Lucy McLeod – WA   |   Rebecca Maynard – WA   |   Bryce Heaton – QLD.